Educational Technology News — ScienceDaily

Computer Vision App Allows Easier Monitoring of Diabetes

A computer vision technology developed by engineers has now been developed into a free mobile phone app for regular monitoring of glucose levels in people with …


AI Teachers Must Be Effective and Communicate Well to Be Accepted

The increase in online education has allowed a new type of teacher to emerge — an artificial one. But just how accepting students are of an artificial instructor remains to be seen. That’s why …


Divide and Conquer: A New Formula to Minimize Mathematics Anxiety

Mathematics — it’s the subject some kids love to hate. Yet despite its lack of popularity, mathematics is critical for a STEM-capable workforce and vital for current and future productivity. …


Study Uses Mathematical Modeling to Identify an Optimal School Return Approach

A new mathematical model has been developed to identify the number of days students could attend school to allow them a better learning experience while mitigating infections of …


Applying Artificial Intelligence to Science Education

A new review highlights the potential of machine learning–a subset of artificial intelligence — in science …


Online Training Helps Preemies

An international team of researchers has now found that computerized training can support preterm children’s academic success. In their randomized controlled study ‘Fit for School’, …


How Do People Prefer Coronavirus Contact Tracing to Be Carried Out?

New research shows that people prefer coronavirus contact tracing to be carried out by a combination of apps and …


Lecturer Takes Laptops and Smart Phones Away and Musters Student Presence

A Danish university lecturer experiments with banning screens in discussion lessons. A new study looks at the results, which include greater student presence, improved engagement and deeper …


A How-to Guide for Teaching GIS Courses Online With Hardware or Software in the Cloud

Geographers offer first-hand accounts of what is required for GIS instructors and IT administrators to set up virtual computing specifically for providing state-of-the-art geographic information …


Social Connection Boosts Fitness App Appeal

Apps alone don’t motivate most people to exercise but interacting with an online exercise community as well provides the impetus for exercisers to do more — and enjoy what they are …


Engaging Undergrads Remotely With an Escape Room Game

Researchers describe an alternative way to engage students: a virtual game, modeled on an escape room, in which teams solve chemistry problems to progress and …


Quantum Physics Provides a Way to Hide Ignorance

Students can hide their ignorance and answer questions correctly in an exam without their lack of knowledge being detected by teachers — but only in the quantum …


Cyberbullying Linked to Post Traumatic Stress for Victims and Perpetrators

Cyberbullying — bullying online rather than face to face — is linked to various types of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms, both for victims and perpetrators, suggests new …


Tool to Protect Children’s Online Privacy

A new study of 100 mobile apps for kids found that 72 violated a federal law aimed at protecting children’s online privacy. Researchers developed a tool that can determine whether an Android …


Achievement Isn’t Why More Men Are Majoring in Physics, Engineering and Computer Science

Researchers have found that the reason there are more undergraduate men than women majoring in physics, engineering and computer science is not because men are higher achievers. On the contrary, the …


Using LEGO to Test Children’s Ability to Visualize and Rotate 3D Shapes in Space

Researchers have developed a test that uses children’s ability to assemble LEGO pieces to assess their spatial visualization ability. Spatial visualization is the ability to visualize 3D shapes …


How Effective Are Language Learning Apps?

Researchers recently conducted a study focusing on Babbel, a popular subscription-based language learning app and e-learning platform, to see if it really worked at teaching a new …


For University Classrooms, Are Telepresence Robots the Next Best Thing to Being There?

Telepresence robots help university students learning remotely to feel more a part of the class, new research …


Video Game Experience, Gender May Improve VR Learning

Students who used immersive virtual reality (VR) did not learn significantly better than those who used two more traditional forms of learning, but they vastly preferred the VR to computer-simulated …


Deep Learning Can Fool Listeners by Imitating Any Guitar Amplifier

A study demonstrates that digital simulations of guitar amplifiers can sound just like the real thing. The implications are that as the software models continue to improve, they can replace …


Friday, November 13, 2020

Friday, October 30, 2020

Monday, October 26, 2020

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

Monday, September 21, 2020

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Monday, June 29, 2020

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Thursday, June 18, 2020

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Monday, June 8, 2020

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, January 20, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Monday, December 23, 2019

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Monday, October 21, 2019

Thursday, October 3, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Monday, September 23, 2019

Thursday, August 29, 2019

Friday, August 23, 2019

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Monday, June 24, 2019

Monday, June 17, 2019

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Monday, May 6, 2019

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Friday, April 5, 2019

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Monday, March 25, 2019

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Thursday, March 14, 2019

Thursday, February 14, 2019

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Monday, November 26, 2018

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Friday, August 3, 2018

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Monday, July 9, 2018

Thursday, July 5, 2018

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Monday, June 11, 2018

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Friday, April 20, 2018

Monday, April 9, 2018

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Monday, April 2, 2018

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Monday, March 5, 2018

Friday, March 2, 2018

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Friday, February 16, 2018

Monday, February 12, 2018

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Monday, February 5, 2018

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Thursday, January 4, 2018